Niagara Falls
Travel Guide

Niagara Falls, New York 

The Falls

Three Sisters Islands


The Three Sisters Islands are three very small islands located off the southeastern shores of Goat Island. The islands are named after Celinda, Angelina, and Asenath Whitney who were the daughters of General Parkhurst Whitney. General Whitney moved to Niagara Falls in 1810 and was one of the early and more prominent settlers in the area. Whitney together with his three daughters are believed to be the first European settlers to have explored the three small islands. Before the European settlers arrived, Iroquois shamans made sacrifices of food and gifts on the islands to the spirit Heno (god of thunder), who they believed dwelled in the Niagara Falls.

Three Sisters Islands, Niagara Falls (New York State)

One of the Three Sisters Islands by Billy Hathorn

Each of the three islands is covered in lush greenery, and with walking trails, makes the islands interesting places to explore or for just a pleasant stroll. The islands are easily accessible from Goat Island by walking across the Three Sister Islands Footbridge. The bridge initially connects Goat Island with the first island and subsequently with the other two islands. The edges of the islands offer fantastic close-up views (also great photo opportunities) of the rapids as they descend over the grand Horseshoe Falls. Standing at the edges, you can safely touch the flow of the rushing waters and hear the enormous power of the rapids.
Three Sisters Islands & the Niagara River, Niagara Falls (New York State)

Niagara River and the Three Sisters Islands by Billy Hathorn


Visiting New York
Click contributor below photo for credit image and license.
About Site  Terms of Use  l  Privacy Policy  Creative Commons  Site Map  l